Learn About The Initial Six Clauses In The ISO 9001 Standard

Learn About The Initial Six Clauses In The ISO 9001 Standard

ISO standards are constantly evolving and enhancing with the times. In this way, they ensure that they offer value to workplaces and businesses. The first six clauses mentioned in the ISO9001 standard are very significant. They form the foundation for business management. The team needs to understand these clauses for continual business improvement.

How Many Clauses Are Present In ISO 9001?

ISO 9001 is constantly evolving due to the additions in the Quality Management Standards.  In the latest 2015 version of ISO 9001 standard, there are a total of ten separate, top-level clause headings. There are around 56 sub-clauses, each of which defines more than 300 individual requirements.

The acceptance and acquiescence of the common requirements enable businesses to implement and upkeep their quality management system. This will help them achieve improved customer satisfaction and obtain recognized certification as well.

Here is the list of the heading of the different clauses contained in the ISO 9001 standard.

  • Scope
  • Planning
  • Terms and Definitions
  • Context of the Organization
  • Normative References
  • Leadership
  • Operation
  • Performance Evaluation
  • Support
  • Improvement

Bestpractice.biz is a JAS-ANZ accredited Certification Body. It offers ISO 9001 accreditation that is a Quality Management System through an in-house consultation or electronic audits to ease the entire certification process.

Clause 1 – Scope of the standard

This clause informs the business about the type of standard they should achieve in the business

Clause 2 – Normative References

This clause lists reference documents that are cited in the text such that a portion of content or all the content constitutes the document requirements.

Clause 3 – Terms and Definitions

This clause summarizes all the terms and definitions needed for the execution of the standard. It clarifies the meaning of the words mentioned within the ISO 9001 standard.

Clause 4 – Context of the Organisation

This is a new addition of requirements to the existing standard. The objective of this clause is that a business owner should assess the business and everything around it. The clause requires a business owner to define the context of the organization, and get a complete understanding of the business.

This clause is further subdivided into four sub-clauses to help a business to enhance its existing processes.

Clause 5 – Leadership

This clause discusses the management responsibility, work communities and teamwork in the business. The clause involves taking complete responsibility for the effectiveness and success of the business that will, in turn, ensure the success of the quality management system. The subclauses relate to the formation of quality policy and the communication for creating and using the policy. It has to be in alignment with the planned direction of the business.

Clause 6 – Planning

This clause is related to the systems and plans required for development to achieve business objectives while maximizing opportunities. The clause guides businesses to consider their long-term objectives, and form effective strategies to achieve those goals.


A business requires capturing the essence of ISO 9001 by unlocking the true value and potential of the organization. It should continuously evaluate and reflect, develop and enhance the business. An understanding of the above six clauses will greatly help in the constant progress and providing enhanced customer satisfaction.